groves

CHURCH OF SAINT PIERRE D'ARRENS

free

About us

The fortified gothic church of Arrens with a crenellated enclosure, dedicated to Saint Peter, was probably built around 1200, but it has been profoundly altered over the centuries following earthquakes, fires and the Wars of Religion. The roof of the quadrangular bell tower (barlong) with skylights from the 1989th century was remodeled in the 1500th century. This bell tower may have once been a watchtower. The church has been listed as a Historic Monument since 1500. The beautiful Gothic portal (around 18) protected by a wooden canopy is made up of two arches in accolade, decorated with acanthus leaves, resting on sculpted caps. A devil, on the right, and an angel, on the left, are vying for your entrance. The tetramorph represents the Evangelists by their symbol. The sculptures are cruder than those of the tetramorph in the church of Luz-Saint-Sauveur in Pays Toy, especially the rather disproportionate head of Christ here. The name of the project manager is carved in Gothic letters on the lintel: “Guillem Pey… de Casasus de Be. ". On entering the cemetery, surrounded by a low and crenellated perimeter wall, is embedded on the right, the stoup, improperly said, according to R. Rittter, of the Cagots. Adorned with a simple cross, it is surmounted by a window tympanum. There is also a reused lintel engraved with a Solomon's knot, according to Pierre DEBOFLE, it would be that of the old hospitalet which was next to the church of Pouey-Laün. Going around the surrounding wall, you discover a Eucharistic cupboard, reused as a window. It is also surmounted by an accolade arch sculpted with acanthus leaves. It is from the same period as the North gate, around the year 2011. On May XNUMX, XNUMX, the end of the renovation work was inaugurated with a very interesting speech by the architect Virginie LUGOL, on the history of the building and works. “The project consisted in giving it back its original side, its unique unified color with lime plaster and whitewash, giving it a harmony of colors and then restoring the XNUMXth century altarpieces, the gallery and its three arches. and lighting…”.
Inside, one is surprised by the size of the single nave. A single transept, on the right, and a cul-de-four apse are the characteristics of this building which covers several periods of construction and renovation. Presence in the choir, of a 1673th century altarpiece, with twisted columns. Sculpted between 1677 and XNUMX by Abel and Jean FORGUETTE from Izeste (Béarn), it frames the statue of the patron saint of the village: Saint Peter (modern statue). In the attic, an angel's head is framed by a broken pediment which is surrounded by scrolls.
On the tabernacle, mid-1635th century, a console in the shape of an angel's head supports a "Christ in outrage". In the chapel on the left, stands an old Romanesque altar with the five crosses of consecration. It is surmounted by a large Christ in polychrome wood from the XNUMXth century. In the chapel on the right or of the Virgin, the altarpiece dates from XNUMX, it is signed Jean DOMEC d'Arrens. See its cartouches at the top, on the right and on the left of the attic. With these compartments with niches on two levels, it has all the characteristics of a Renaissance altarpiece. The side compartments, with a flat bottom, were, according to Pierre DEBOFLE, to house paintings, before being replaced by statues. Some, following the revolutionary destruction, are from the XNUMXth century. The whole is surmounted by an attic with a broken pediment. Also remarkable are the lectern, the finely sculpted and chiselled processional cross, as well as the benches of the consuls.

Sources: www.patrimoines-lourdes-gavarnie.fr

  • Theme(s):

    Church, Sacred art

Rates & payment

Prices

  • Free free

Contact & access

Azun Road
65400 ARRENS-MARSOUS